JEE Main Eligibility Criteria 2017 for Admission to IITs, NITs, IIITs and CFTIs

Ministry of Human Resource Development (MHRD) has decided some major changes in the pattern of Joint Entrance Examination (JEE) for the year 2017. The decision has been taken after committee set up by IIT Council. The meeting of IIT Council was conducted in October 2015 with the eminent persons in the subject of improving the system of Joint Entrance Examination (JEE). The main focus of meeting is to scrap the class 12th marks weightage given in the JEE (Mains) ranking. The committee had recommended major changes in JEE Main eligibility criteria 2017 for admission to IITs, NITs, IIITs and CFTIs.


Few Changes in the JEE Pattern for 2017

  • Class 12th marks weightage (40%) will not be included in determining JEE Main 2017 rank.
  • Candidates securing 75% marks (65% marks for SC/ST) in the qualifying examination (12th) or to be in top 20 percentile of their respective boards will be eligible to apply for JEE Advanced 2017.
    In other words, we can say that admission to IITs, NITS, IIITs and CFTIs will be offered only to those students who are satisfying the aforesaid eligibility criteria.
  • No other changes in JEE 2017 examination system.

No Weightage to class 12th Marks in Rank Calculation of JEE Main

Presently, there is a system of allotting 40% marks weightage to 12th class marks but from the year 2017, 12th marks weightage will not be a factor for calculating rankings in JEE Main. Class 12th scores will only be considered for determining the eligibility criteria for the exam. Students who are appearing JEE Main 2017 are required to score maximum marks in the entrance exam to be eligible for admission to IITS, NITs and other top prestigious engineering colleges of the country.

Don't miss out!
Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Learn new things. Get an article everyday.

Invalid email address
Give it a try. You can unsubscribe at any time.